top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmisha Chowdhury

Standards of Being a Daughter

"I have one older brother. My brother and I never got along because I hated how much he got away with every day. Even though my brother is only two years older than me, he always got to go out with friends and stay late. He got his driver’s license when he was sixteen. He doesn’t have to do the dishes when the sink is full. When he is hungry he just goes to my mother to ask for food. Life for him is on easy mode. But for me, it’s the opposite. I wasn’t allowed to go out often or stay out late. I was the one who had to do the dishes and clean the house when it got messy. I had to make my food and also feed my brother, even though he was older than me. I grew up watching my brother get treated way differently than me. Whether it be household chores or the freedom to do whatever he wants, he always got his way, I did not. I always held that against him. I even hated him for it. Why does he get to do all these things while I have to stay home with all these restrictions? When I have daughters one day, I want to make sure that I don’t treat them with these double standards. Both girls and boys should be equal. Treat your daughters the same as your sons."


- Anonymous

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page